SCCM 2012 SP1: The significant features

Kent Agerlund recently blogged about features that will be seen in the SP1 release of SCCM 2012. To read Kent’s blog, visit http://blog.coretech.dk/kea/configmgr-2012-sp1-announced-teched-2012/.

From the list of features, the 2 that standout from my perspective are:

  1. Support for Metro style applications, and
  2. Ability to add a CAS to an existing stand-alone primary site.

I picked those 2 out of the list because the major reason why enterprises have been including the CAS in their existing SCCM 2012 infrastructure is because of the lack of support from Microsoft / inability to upgrade a stand-alone primary site to include a CAS, thereby curtailing the ability to increase your client size beyond 100,000. Although, the 100,000 client size per primary site is the published figure from Microsoft, we all know that you can go above this magic number. Furthermore the lack of support for Metro style applications could have killed any little interest that enterprises might have had in Metro style applications for Windows 8.

For those reasons those 2 features standout for me.

One Response to SCCM 2012 SP1: The significant features

  1. You actually make it seem so easy with your
    presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your
    next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a comment